Starbucks Planters

My favorite way to display plants is in clear containers. Not only do I get to watch the leaves grow, but I also get to watch the roots tangle in and out of each other as they proliferate. I also like to use containers that are recycled, and inexpensive, and Starbucks’ plastic cups combine both of these functionalities perfectly.

Neon Pathos and Heart Leaf Philodendron

Starbucks cups display plant roots beautifully, but that is not all they are good for. The lid means that very little water evaporates, and the water does not have to be topped off often. Having a few plants that I almost never need to worry about watering is a relief.

The lid also makes it easy to place just the part of the plant that I want submerged in the water, and while keeping the rest of the plant dry. This is especially beneficial when I have plants with tiny roots, and short stems. I thread the roots through the spot for the straw, and the rest of the plant stays above the lid and dry. I do not need to worry about the whole plant slipping under the water as I do in wide mouth jar, for example.

These cups also do not have the stickers that most pasta jars do, and have a unobtrusive design, helping the colors and textures of your plant really be the focus, and making them a cute addition to any plant shelf.

Another perk of these planters is they are free. If I get a cup of water at Starbucks, I just make sure to bring it home, and I have a plant container ready to go!

To learn more about DIY plant containers, check out my previous posts on sustainable plant keeping https://aloetheplants.wordpress.com/2019/03/03/growing-green-sustainable-plant-keeping/.

If you want to learn more about how I use Starbucks products to further my plant obsession, you can read the post https://aloetheplants.wordpress.com/2019/02/25/collecting-starbucks-coffee-grounds/

Let me know in the comments below what you grow your plants in. And, make sure to like and follow!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started